Last visit was: It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:14 am

All times are UTC-05:00

Post subject:Sorry sorry sorry
PostPosted:Sun Feb 05, 2006 7:04 am 

I know its been said a million times...
However... im still thinking about multiplayer.

Now, I don't want onlink to go buy a 50u server and give us all space on it for our boxes, etc. (50u is the size of a server)

I was thinking of adding a simple (haha...) networking multiplayer..

The Idea:

Take the game and allow 2 or more people to play at the same time.. give the first person 127.0.0.1 the second to join 127.0.0.2. Let the game stay the same, but use email as chat. Then if the players want to play single player, let em. When they rejoin multiplayer the games will update (since the only difference should be the two human players)

If this still isnt feasable please don't flame. I am a programmer and a technician, I know how hard something like this could be, but I was trying for a simple solution for multiplayer....

Please leave any positive input/feedback (even if it is why this is infeasable). Thanks!

Post subject:
PostPosted:Sun Feb 05, 2006 8:06 am 
External Project Staff

as far as i know, miah is allready working on a multiplayer. but the multiplayer will be passive, not active.

this means that it will not be possible to play together in the same game, only something like an highscore list, and ingame downloadable mods

and if you wanna chat, use irc

Post subject:
PostPosted:Sun Feb 05, 2006 2:27 pm 

how can a multiplayer be? two persons on one job? online players pc's on the map?

Post subject:Multiplayer
PostPosted:Sun Feb 05, 2006 4:36 pm 

Well I was thinking it could just be lan(or IP based), like a server/client.. except instead of one person having the data and streaming to the other, they share agent data (their own agent) and the story line stays seperate... but it should allow for hacking of eachother, as if they were just another box on the net.