Last visit was: It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:05 am

All times are UTC-05:00

Post subject:Wanna Start Off...
PostPosted:Thu May 15, 2008 10:34 am 

ok so i wanna learn how to code or whatever you call it.
i mean onlink is cool...very cool but sometimes there are those little things that may be better if there was a quick tweak... i know i could just request it but by myself if there is only one little thing bugging me i might as well edit myself.

but theres one small problem. i'm a total noob at this stuff, so what i would LOVE to know is what programs i need to start off.... i mean if i''m not aloud to edit onlink then atleast i could try making a mod for Uplink. (i mean i could make a Ghost In Shell Kinda Mod which i think is cool)

I also wanted to make this post as a reference for any others who want to know what tools they need before they start off.

I don't really care how long it'll be. and i'm a quick learner.

Post subject:Re: Wanna Start Off...
PostPosted:Thu May 15, 2008 4:09 pm 

Learning to program is long and tedious (at least it was for me). Its not a "quick edit" as you call it, its scrolling through lines of text and editing them. You get to learn fun new concepts like arrays, loops, indexes and other fun things.

But if you really want to learn you'll need

Microsoft Visual Studio Express C++
www.learncpp.com

You'll be at a level where you can understand Uplink in maybe six months if you work hard. I'm still not there and I've taken a high school programming class and I'm independently trying to learn C++ on the side. Life gets in the way and it's easy to learn interest but I sincerely believe its wroth learning.

And thats about it. Also for future notice I believe this question has been asked before in the General Coding section, please use the search button.

PostPosted:Thu May 15, 2008 8:09 pm