Last visit was: It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 2:56 am


All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Using different skins? editing data.dat?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2015 1:44 am 
 

Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 1:28 am
Posts: 1
Hello,

Is it possible to use different skins in Onlink? I've been trying to use this windows skin http://modlink.net/files/mods/skins/MS_Windows.zip but I haven't been able to get it to work.

Dropping it into Onlink's folder with all of its data doesn't work. I tried creating a new data.dat archive using winrar with the new skins (and leaving everything else untouched) but the game glitched out that way; the buttons were missing and I couldn't click anywhere.

I also tried using Redshirt to decode the data.dat files but the only thing that happens is that a 0 kb (obviously unopenable) file is created, and none of the other options on Redshirt worked. This is what I'm seeing: Image

Am I missing something here or is replacing the default skins with custom ones impossible?

----

As an aside, I also tried adding new corporation names into the corporations list through the winrar method I explained above, but the game does not use them. The game doesn't crash or anything, it just doesn't recognize them.


I guess my overall question is: is it possible to edit/customize the data.dat file?


Top
Offline   
 Post subject: Re: Using different skins? editing data.dat?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 1:05 am 
 

Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 12:55 am
Posts: 3
I'm also trying to figure out how to create a new data.dat file. If you can extract the contents with a file compressor, why can you not re-create the .dat file also with a file compressor?
Every site with data about drag & drop, ensure correct directory structure, blah blah, I've tried it all but it's not working. All I want to do is add some of the cool gateways from modlink. Please assist.


Top
Offline   
 Post subject: Re: Using different skins? editing data.dat?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2016 2:21 pm 
 

Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 10:55 am
Posts: 52
I do not know if they have managed to customize skin and gateway need can use what I've done to me.


Top
Offline   
 Post subject: Re: Using different skins? editing data.dat?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2016 6:30 pm 
 

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:20 am
Posts: 78
You can't use Uplink themes with Onlink I'm pretty sure


Top
Offline   
 Post subject: Re: Using different skins? editing data.dat?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2016 7:16 pm 
 

Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 10:55 am
Posts: 52
Quote:
You can't use Uplink themes with Onlink I'm pretty sure
Your "sure" it's wrong.

See here
viewtopic.php?f=52&t=3007

the themes can to be ajusted.

If you want it, send your e-mail, data file has 12mb
But is missing one button.


Top
Offline   
 Post subject: Re: Using different skins? editing data.dat?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 7:54 am 
 

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:20 am
Posts: 78
Quote:
Quote:
You can't use Uplink themes with Onlink I'm pretty sure
Your "sure" it's wrong.

See here
viewtopic.php?f=52&t=3007

the themes can to be ajusted.

If you want it, send your e-mail, data file has 12mb
But is missing one button.
Guess I am.

You still need to update the themes to include Onlink-exclusive assets though.


Top
Offline   
 Post subject: Re: Using different skins? editing data.dat?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 9:12 pm 
 

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 9:04 am
Posts: 8
Figured I would reply to this post.
You can remove the data.bat file and extract its contents and use it like uplink.
The thing is where do you place the extracted files at?
unlike uplink the onlink data file should be extracted to the same folder as the saved game files are in.
C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Onlink

that folder there.
Then what you do is edit or recreate the theme file as it is in the data file.
Plus the images and what not.
This same thing can be said about gateways as well. however a custom gateway format unlike uplink is changed.
As for custom lans go I have not yet figured out how to properly create a working custom lan that does not become useless.
If one of you do please let me know how.
If anyone does need any more help and do not get any help then feel free to message me :D


Top
Offline   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created by Miah with assistance from hyprnova