Last visit was: It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:53 pm


All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ONLINK v0.1.2 BETA 2 RELEASED
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 5:28 pm 
Just so you know, you brought this upon yourself. Dancefight.
User avatar
 

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 1171
Location: The vicinity of an area adjacent to a location.
We've released an update. If you've got v0.1.2 Beta 1 installed, just go to Start>Programs>Onlink>Update to get Beta 2.

If you don't have Onlink installed or have a version of Onlink prior to v0.1.2 Beta 1, you can download Onlink Update from here.

EDIT: Changelogs added. See below.

Miah's Changelog:
  • Quirk with logging into Gateway systems
  • VDPIN purchase error
  • Security Disablers and Killers now work again
  • Odd security quirk (sentry)
Michael's Changelog:
  • Fixed a playlist bug

_________________
- Tycho

Image


Last edited by Tycho on Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:03 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
Offline   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 5:48 pm 
User avatar
 

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:28 am
Posts: 365
Location: Canada
Well that was fast - Downloading now.

_________________
Best file compression around: "DEL *.*" = 100% compression
"640K ought to be enough for anybody." - Bill Gates, 1981


Top
Offline   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 6:05 pm 
User avatar
 

Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Posts: 1019
Website: http://eddieringle.com
Location: Detroit, MI
Hmm... I'm starting to like the update program. :)

Will post back later with thoughts...

EDIT:

I know he added some text into those TODO slots he left behind. :P

_________________
-- Eddie Ringle

Check out Elysian Shadows and consider backing us on Kickstarter!

====================================

Image


Top
Offline   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 6:30 pm 
Just so you know, you brought this upon yourself. Dancefight.
User avatar
 

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 1171
Location: The vicinity of an area adjacent to a location.
Miah wanted an update rushed out, hence the quick Beta 2. Not sure of his reasons, though.

_________________
- Tycho

Image


Top
Offline   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 6:34 pm 
 

Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 11:41 am
Posts: 344
Location: Ninjaville
There were some fundamental problems with Beta 1, some important things didn't work, glad to see they are fixed so quickly.


Top
Offline   
 Post subject: Re: ONLINK v0.1.2 BETA 2 RELEASED
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 6:39 pm 
Just so you know, you brought this upon yourself. Dancefight.
User avatar
 

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 9:00 am
Posts: 1262
Website: http://www.ferrousmoon.com/
Location: Places, doing things.
Quote:
Miah has decided to abandon me on Skype, so I'll get the changelog from him whenever he shows up again.
I do that. Damn my responsibilities.

Change log basically consists of bug fixes:
  • Quirk with logging into Gateway systems
  • VDPIN purchase error
  • Security Disablers and Killers now work again
  • Odd security quirk (sentry)


Top
Offline   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 7:05 pm 
User avatar
 

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:28 am
Posts: 365
Location: Canada
Who's Michael?

_________________
Best file compression around: "DEL *.*" = 100% compression
"640K ought to be enough for anybody." - Bill Gates, 1981


Top
Offline   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 7:08 pm 
Just so you know, you brought this upon yourself. Dancefight.
User avatar
 

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 1171
Location: The vicinity of an area adjacent to a location.
Quote:
Who's Michael?
He goes by 'Crazy' on the forums. He's our newest developer, been working with us for a couple months now.

_________________
- Tycho

Image


Top
Offline   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 8:41 pm 
 

Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 11:47 am
Posts: 30
how come it doesn't ask for the box code


Top
Offline   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 8:51 pm 
User avatar
 

Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Posts: 1019
Website: http://eddieringle.com
Location: Detroit, MI
Yeah, I pointed this out during beta 1, I wonder if Miah or Tycho saw it...

I was able to install Onlink onto my desktop, which did not have Uplink installed, it runs fine, I started it up, and was able to create a new user without a codecard.

_________________
-- Eddie Ringle

Check out Elysian Shadows and consider backing us on Kickstarter!

====================================

Image


Top
Offline   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 8:56 pm 
Just so you know, you brought this upon yourself. Dancefight.
User avatar
 

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 1171
Location: The vicinity of an area adjacent to a location.
About the code card. I cannot find where the post was (it was either here or the Introversion forums), but someone brought to light that the code card was never intended as a means of copy protection (see the last question on this FAQ on Uplink's site).

In light of this information, we saw fit to disable the code card because it's generally an annoyance.

_________________
- Tycho

Image


Top
Offline   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 9:01 pm 
User avatar
 

Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 8:56 pm
Posts: 1019
Website: http://eddieringle.com
Location: Detroit, MI
So does that mean Introversion is allowing you to distribute their game for free (well, okay technically it's an extremely modded version, but the engine is the same :))? Or should we keep this on the shush-shush? :P

_________________
-- Eddie Ringle

Check out Elysian Shadows and consider backing us on Kickstarter!

====================================

Image


Top
Offline   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 9:17 pm 
Just so you know, you brought this upon yourself. Dancefight.
User avatar
 

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 1171
Location: The vicinity of an area adjacent to a location.
I think the bug here I missed was that it isn't checking for world.dat, which -is- a copy protection mechanism. A very WEAK protection mechanism, since it's basically just a 20MB file, which, on my connection, could be transferred from pretty much anywhere in 4 seconds.

I think Miah and I are going to come up with our own sadistic copy protection scheme.

_________________
- Tycho

Image


Top
Offline   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 12:28 am 
User avatar
 

Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 3:51 am
Posts: 1186
Website: http://griffinhart.livejournal.com/
Yahoo Messenger: Squall591
AOL: FinalWarrior591
Location: Look at my horse, my horse is amazing!
So anyways, old questions from the previous update that I have yet to hear an answer about...

1. If you uninstalled Uplink and then installed Onlink (without Uplink), will installing Uplink back on top bork anything?

2. How to add custom gateways? I tried the old method (i.e., changing data.dat into data.zip, extracting/unzipping it, and then tooling around with the gateway files), but my custom gateway doesn't seem to be appearing in the game.

-- Griffinhart

EDIT: Well, I figured out how to add gateways... turns out I remembered the process wrong, eheh. However, there still remains a problem... though my gateway has been added (I dunno if it functions... I have yet to test it out tonight), I keep getting a "(null): cannot open" error box (out-of-game) or something similar every time I click on my custom gateway in the "Gateway Upgrades" menu on the UISS. When I return to the game (I don't crash out, I just get sent to desktop), the box where my gateway's image is supposed to be is the black box with an "x" in it (i.e., for missing graphics) though I know there aren't any missing graphics... unless I must name the .tif's in a certain manner.

_________________
"My word is my honor. My honor is my life."
-- Demonchild, Angelkin, the Blackest Seraph, the Final Warrior

Image


Top
Offline   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 4:32 pm 
Just so you know, you brought this upon yourself. Dancefight.
User avatar
 

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 3:31 pm
Posts: 1171
Location: The vicinity of an area adjacent to a location.
Okay, Miah and I investigated the world.dat check. Interestingly, it IS enabled. But if your world.dat doesn't exist, it assumes you're running the Steam version and just lets you run the game.

So we're just leaving that world.dat check as is. You can now install Onlink standalone with no code card and no world.dat. This may or may not be in violation of Introversion Software's policies, but since the same "bug" exists in their code, we're leaving it for now.

The next Onlink Update will default installation to C:\Program Files\Onlink instead of Uplink. Waiving the dependency on Uplink feels pretty good, actually.

_________________
- Tycho

Image


Top
Offline   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created by Miah with assistance from hyprnova